Keynote/Plenary Speakers

Michel H. Devoret

Michel H. Devoret (MHD) is currently the F.W. Beinecke Professor of Applied Physics at Yale University. He is one of the pioneers of the field of quantum electrical circuits, macroscopic electrodynamic systems in which the collective variables like currents and voltages associated with signals are fully controllable quantum-mechanical variables. The importance of this field, since its early days of single electron devices, has gradually been gaining momentum after the development of quantum information theory (Peter Shor's factoring algorithm, 1995). We do not know yet exactly how will be built the quantum computer of tomorrow, but, today, superconducting quantum circuits of the type pioneered by MHD and colleagues make progress on a yearly basis. Together with trapped ions, they are now the serious contenders for the realization of the core of a quantum processor that may revolutionize quantum sensing and computation.

Anna Fontcuberta i Morral

Anna Fontcuberta i Morral finished her studies in physics at the University of Barcelona (Spain) in 1997. She obtained her masters in materials science from the University of Paris XI (France) in 1998 and her PhD in materials science from Ecole Polytechnique (France) in 2001. In 2001 and 2002 she was a postdoctoral fellow at the group of Prof. Harry A. Atwater at the California Institute of Technology. After that she obtained a permanent research position at the French research council (CNRS) at Ecole Polytechnique (France). In 2004, she took a leave of absence to return to the California Institute of Technology, where she co-founded the startup company Aonex Technologies Inc.. Then, in 2005 she started her own research group in the chair of Prof. G. Abstreiter of the Technical University of Munich (Germany). Since 2008 she directs the Laboratory of Semiconductor Materials at the Institute of Materials of the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland). Her current research interest is the synthesis and nanoscale characterization of sustainable semiconductor nanostructures such as nanowires for solar energy conversion. Among other prizes, in 2015 she obtained the Emmy Noether distinction from EPS for women in physics for her work.

Serge Haroche

Serge Haroche was awarded the 2012 Nobel Prize for Physics jointly with David J. Wineland for "ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems". Between 2001 and 2015, Haroche was a Professor at the Collège de France, holding the Chair of Quantum Physics. He is now Emeritus Professor at the Collège de France. Serge Haroche works primarily in atomic physics and quantum optics. He is principally known for proving quantum decoherence by experimental observation, while working with colleagues at the École normale supérieure in Paris in 1996. After a PhD dissertation on dressed atoms under the supervision of Claude Cohen-Tannoudji from 1967 to 1971, he developed new methods for laser spectroscopy, based on the study of quantum beats and superradiance. He then moved on to Rydberg atoms, giant atomic states particularly sensitive to microwaves, which makes them well adapted for studying the interactions between light and matter. He showed that such atoms, coupled to a superconducting cavity containing a few photons, are well-suited to the testing of quantum decoherence and to the realization of quantum logic operations necessary for the treatment of quantum information.

Martin Milton

Dr Martin Milton received a BA in Physics from Oxford University in 1981 and a PhD in Laser Physics from Southampton University in 1990 followed by an MBA from the London Business School in 1991. Dr Milton joined the BIPM in October 2012 as Director Designate and became Director on 1 January 2013. Before his move to the BIPM, Dr Milton spent 31 years at the National Physical Laboratory (NPL), United Kingdom where he was a Fellow in the Analytical Science Division. As Director of the BIPM he manages 74 staff and oversees the impact of the programme of work and relations with stakeholders, including principally the 58 Member States and 42 Associates States. Dr Milton has published more than 90 papers in peer-reviewed journals and has received several awards including most recently the Finkelstein Medal of the Institute of Measurement and Control for notable contributions to measurement internationally.

Klaus von Klitzing

Klaus von Klitzing is Director at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research in Stuttgart with a research focus on semiconductor quantum structures. He has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1985 for the discovery of the Quantum Hall Effect. This quantum phenomenon was internationally presented for the first time at the CPEM 1980 in Braunschweig and opened the possibility to relate all electrical units to fundamental constants. This formed the basis for the expected revised international system of units based on constants of nature. Klaus von Klitzing is Honorary Research Fellow of the Korean Research Institute of Standards and Science, Honorary member of the PTB Board of Trustees and received 22 honorary degrees from universities in 14 countries.

Sheila Rowan

Sheila Rowan is an experimental physicist, and since 2009, Director of the Institute for Gravitational Research in the School of Physics and Astronomy in the University of Glasgow in the UK. She received her BSc (1991) and PhD (1995) in the field of gravitational wave instrumentation from the University of Glasgow. She was awarded a Leverhulme Prize for Astronomy and Astrophysics in 2005, elected to Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2008, was awarded Fellowship of the American Physical Society in 2012 and received the Hoyle Medal and Prize of the UK Institute of Physics in 2016 for her research "pioneering aspects of the technology of gravitational wave observatories".

Jean-Philippe Uzan

Jean-Philippe Uzan is a theoretical physicist at CNRS and works at the Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris. He was the deputy director of the Institut Henri Poincaré from 2013 to 2017. He is a specialist of gravitation and cosmology. Among his scientific interests are the tests of general relativity and their extensions to astrophysical scales. He has been studying the connection between the variation of fundamental constants and the Einstein equivalence principle. Recently he was involved in the analysis of the MICROSCOPE satellite and in 2018 he proposed the first prediction of the angular power spectrum of the background of astrophysical gravitational waves. Besides his research, he is involved in the development of the AIMS network of mathematics centers in Africa, as member of its advisory board and as teacher, and in the association « Les p’tits cueilleurs d’étoiles » developing projects with kids in hospital. He has written several books among which two monographies (Primordial Cosmology (Oxford Press) and Théories de la Relativité (Belin)), popular science books and two books for children. He also spends some time to work with the artist SMITH and the composers Fabien Waksman and Arnaud Petit. see

With the Patronage of
Registration opening: 16 October 2017

First call for papers: 16 October 2017

Deadline for Travel Support Application:
26 January 2018

Deadline for 2-Page Summary Paper Submission:
26 January 2018

Author Notification of Acceptance and mode of presentation: 29 March 2018

Notification of Acceptance for Travel Support Application: April 2018

Deadline for Speaker/Poster Presenter Registration:
25 April 2018  4 May 2018

Deadline for Registration at Early Bird Rate:
25 April 2018  4 May 2018 

Dynamic programme online : 30 May 2018

Extended-Paper deadline: 17 July 2018


> Carte Blanche <
7 chemin En Barbaro - 81710 Saïx - France
Tel.: 33 (0)5 63 72 30 68 - Fax: 33 (0)5 63 72 30 32